H.R. No. 251

By: Bonnen

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The House of Representatives of the State of Texas 2 is pleased to recognize The University of Texas M. D. Anderson 3 Cancer Center in Houston, one of the world's most respected centers 4 devoted exclusively to cancer patient care, research, education, 5 and prevention; and

6 WHEREAS, The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center 7 is well known the world over for its multidisciplinary approach to 8 treating cancer; since 1944, more than 600,000 cancer patients have 9 received treatment at the facility; and

10 WHEREAS, The center's cancer research program is one of the 11 most productive efforts in the world and ranks first in the number 12 of grants awarded by the National Cancer Institute; each year, the 13 center's educational programs provide training to several hundred 14 residents and fellows who receive specialized training in the 15 investigation and treatment of cancer; and

16 WHEREAS, One of the center's most innovative programs is the 17 annual rehabilitation trip in January to the National Ability 18 Center in Park City, Utah; funded by the Children's Art Project, the 19 trip provides pediatric cancer patients time away from cancer 20 treatments and time to enjoy breathtaking scenery and outdoor 21 activities; and

22 WHEREAS, The rehabilitation program offers the patients 23 snow-skiing lessons, giving them an opportunity to acquire a new 24 skill and gain a sense of accomplishment; the patients gain

1

1 confidence as their skiing skills progress and often participate in 2 other activities, such as swimming in a heated pool, driving 3 snowmobiles, and dancing, with newfound assurance; and

H.R. No. 251

WHEREAS, The ski trip was conceived by Dr. Norman Jaffe, a pediatric oncologist and a professor at The University of Texas, after hearing a young cancer patient, Ted Kennedy, Jr., describe his adventures on the ski slopes; Dr. Jaffe realized that skiing could be a novel form of physical rehabilitation and, with a crew of volunteers and specially trained ski instructors, began taking pediatric cancer patients to the mountains each year; and

11 WHEREAS, Besides the benefits of physical rehabilitation, 12 the ski trip offers psychosocial rehabilitation; the cancer 13 patients and survivors gain confidence and give each other hope and 14 support as they master new skills and make new friends; the trip 15 facilitates both physical and social healing and gives parents 16 reassurance regarding their children's abilities; and

WHEREAS, With more than 12,000 employees and a volunteer workforce of approximately 1,400, the M. D. Anderson Cancer Center is a vital force in the City of Houston and our state, and its services have had a positive impact on the lives of people around the world; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby pay tribute to The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center for its excellent treatment programs and commend all the people involved with the annual rehabilitation ski trip for young cancer patients; and, be it further

2

H.R. No. 251 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared as an expression of high regard from the Texas House of Representatives. Bonnen

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 251

Menendez

H.R. No. 251

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 251 was adopted by the House on February 9, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House