By: Martinez Fischer

H.R. No. 259

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The San Antonio Police Department's SWAT team

2 captured first place in the overall competition at the 2004 World

SWAT Challenge and Conference in Moyock, North Carolina, and these

4 fine law enforcement officers are most deserving of special praise

5 for this remarkable achievement; and

6 WHEREAS, Held from May 18 to May 22, the 2004 World SWAT

7 Challenge and Conference pitted 12 of North America's top SWAT

8 teams against one another in a competition consisting of live fire

with eight events designed to test fitness, marksmanship, teamwork,

10 and leadership; and

3

9

12

17

20

23

11 WHEREAS, Members of the SAPD SWAT team include officers Leo

Gonzalez, Riad Freijy, Drew Howard, Phil Corey, Jr., Brian White,

13 Joe Obregon, Guillermo Cantu, and Frank Gonzalez; and

14 WHEREAS, These exceptional law enforcement officers are a

15 credit to their department and to the citizens of San Antonio, and

16 their exemplary performance at the 2004 SWAT Challenge and

Conference is indicative of their high level of competence and

18 their commitment to excellence; now, therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

Legislature hereby congratulate the members of the San Antonio

21 Police Department's SWAT team on winning first place at the 2004

22 World SWAT Challenge and Conference and commend them for their

efforts to protect and serve the citizens of San Antonio; and, be it

24 further

H.R. No. 259

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 3 House of Representatives.