RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Memories of a life filled with joyful times and 2 meaningful accomplishments may comfort the family and friends of 3 Nancy Riley Whatley Mundinger of Baytown, who died on June 28, 2004, at the age of 76; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Born in Dallas on January 29, 1928, to Calvin and Pearl Riley Whatley, this seventh-generation Texan graduated from 6 Woodrow Wilson High School and attended The University of Texas, 7 where she met her future husband, Daniel Moore Mundinger; the 8 newlyweds moved to Baytown in 1951 and reared four sons, Will, Dan, 9 Calvin, and Erich; Calvin Mundinger, who took office as the mayor of 10 11 Baytown in May 2004, has said that his decision to seek public 12 office was greatly inspired by his mother's steadfast community 13 service; and 14 WHEREAS, A consummate volunteer, Mrs. Mundinger left an indelible mark on her adopted hometown through her involvement with 15 a host of notable organizations, including the Baytown Service 16 League, which she served as president, St. Mark's United Methodist 17 18 Church, where she taught Sunday school and acted as Benevolence Chair, and the Baytown Chapter of Big Brothers, Big Sisters, which 19 she founded; moreover, she also ably served the Museum of Fine Arts, 20 21 Houston, as a docent for their Bayou Bend Collection and was a 22 member of the Bluebird Circle of Houston, and the Houston Livestock 23 Show and Rodeo International Committee; and

WHEREAS, Those fortunate enough to have known Nancy Mundinger

24

- 1 will remember her humor, her zest for life, and her love of her
- 2 family, her community, and Texas; although she will be profoundly
- 3 missed, her legacy of generosity and service will long live on in
- 4 the hearts of those whose lives she so richly blessed; now,
- 5 therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby pay special tribute to the life of Nancy Riley
- 8 Whatley Mundinger and extend deepest sympathy to the members of her
- 9 family: to her husband, Daniel Moore Mundinger; to her sons and
- 10 their spouses, William George Mundinger II, and his wife, Winifred,
- 11 Daniel Moore Mundinger, Jr., and his wife, Catherine, Calvin Adam
- 12 Mundinger, and his wife, Ann, and Erich Whatley Mundinger, and his
- 13 wife, Betty; to her grandchildren, William George, Robert Adam,
- 14 Elizabeth and her husband, Patrick, Samantha Ann, Daniel Moore,
- 15 Kathern Casey, Riley Kean, Hilary Bird, George Lewis, Jennifer
- 16 Deanne, and Gage Rohr; to her brother, Calvin Whatley, and his wife,
- 17 Julia; to her brother-in-law, John Lanham Higginbotham; to her
- 18 aunt, Lavera Riley; and to the other relatives and many friends of
- 19 this beloved woman; and, be it further
- 20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 21 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 22 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Nancy Riley
- 23 Whatley Mundinger.

Smith of Harris

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Villarreal Farrar Madden Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 314 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on February 24, 2005.

Chief Clerk of the House