H.R. No. 361

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The formal celebration of Angelina County Days at the Capitol on February 16 and 17, 2005, provides a fitting opportunity to recognize this outstanding part of the Lone Star State and to welcome visitors from the county, including those members of the Lufkin Leadership Class of 2005; and

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

WHEREAS, Organized in 1846, Angelina County was named for a Hainai Indian maiden who is said to have aided Spanish missionaries living in the area around 1690; the county is situated in the Piney Woods and rolling hills of East Texas in a region nestled between the Angelina River to the north and the Neches River to the south; and

WHEREAS, Since the arrival of the railroads in the 1880s, Angelina County has consistently benefited from a thriving lumber business and, over the years, a variety of other industries have flourished as well, including farming and manufacturing; and

WHEREAS, Residents of Angelina County share a wealth of 16 recreational opportunities given their close proximity to the 17 Angelina National Forest and the region's largest lake, the Sam 18 Rayburn Reservoir, which offers superior bass fishing and an outlet 19 for swimming and boating; moreover, the county seat of Lufkin 20 21 features such compelling attractions as the Texas Forestry Museum, 22 the Lufkin Historical and Creative Arts Center, the Museum of East Texas, and the Ellen Trout Zoo; and 23

24 WHEREAS, Angelina County has long been an area rich in

H.R. No. 361

- 1 natural and cultural resources, and it gives the members of this
- 2 chamber great pleasure to honor the many significant contributions
- 3 of this fine Texas county; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby recognize February 16 and 17, 2005, as Angelina
- 6 County Days and extend to the visiting delegation best wishes for a
- 7 memorable trip to Austin.

McReynolds

H.R. No. 361

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 361 was adopted by the House on February 17, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House