H.R. No. 378

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Terrell native Randy Snow received a significant

honor on July 1, 2004, when he became the first Paralympian to be

inducted into the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame; and

WHEREAS, The only athlete to be awarded medals in three

5 different Paralympic Games in three different sports, Mr. Snow

worked hard to become one of the world's top wheelchair athletes

after a 1975 farming accident left him paralyzed from the waist

8 down; and

2

3

6

7

10

11

12

13

21

9 WHEREAS, This intense and passionate competitor captured a

silver medal in the 1,500-meter exhibition at the 1984 Olympics

before grabbing gold in the same event at the 1984 Paralympics; he

garnered gold again in 1992 as the Paralympic tennis champion, and

four years later he brought home a bronze medal for basketball; the

14 1996 Atlanta Paralympic Games were especially memorable for Mr.

15 Snow because he was selected to receive the Paralympic torch from

16 President Bill Clinton in Washington, D.C.; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Snow's enshrinement in the U.S. Olympic Hall of

18 Fame finds him in excellent company; other members of the Class of

19 2004 include swimmers Matt Biondi and Janet Evans, speedskaters

20 Bonnie Blair and Dan Jansen, track and field stars Florence

Griffith Joyner and Jackie Joyner-Kersee, and soccer great Mia Hamm

and the 1996 team she led to gold; and

WHEREAS, Today, Randy Snow is one of the country's most

24 sought-after motivational speakers, and his induction into the U.S.

H.R. No. 378

- 1 Olympic Hall of Fame is an inspirational reminder of the strength of
- 2 the human spirit and one man's triumph over adversity; now,
- 3 therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby congratulate Randy Snow on his induction into
- 6 the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame and extend to him best wishes for
- 7 continued success and happiness; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for Mr. Snow as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 10 House of Representatives.

Brown of Kaufman

## H.R. No. 378

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Villarreal Farrar Madden Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

TT	$\Gamma$	7A T -	378
н	$\sim$	NO	4 / ≥

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 378 was adopted by the House on March 15, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House