RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Those Americans who have made the ultimate sacrifice
- 2 for their country are truly deserving of special recognition, and
- 3 U.S. Army Specialist Chad Drake was one such individual; and
- WHEREAS, Specialist Drake enlisted in the Army in August
- 5 2001, and was sent to serve in Iraq on March 13, 2004, his 23rd
- 6 birthday; and
- 7 WHEREAS, A dedicated soldier, Specialist Drake approached
- 8 his work with both diligence and modesty and brushed off praise for
- 9 his patriotic service by insisting that he was simply doing his job;
- 10 and
- 11 WHEREAS, Specialist Drake's steadfast commitment to his
- 12 mission continued until he was killed in action on September 7,
- 13 2004, and he is scheduled to receive both the Bronze Star and the
- 14 Purple Heart posthumously in tribute to his bravery; and
- 15 WHEREAS, No words can assuage the pain caused by this brave
- 16 Texan's death, and we join his loved ones in mourning the loss of a
- 17 young man of great accomplishment and greater promise; now,
- 18 therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of U.S. Army Specialist
- 21 Chad Drake and extend heartfelt sympathy to his family: to his
- 22 wife, Randi Drake; to his daughter, Kaylee Drake; to his mother,
- 23 Ginger Drake; to his sister, Jennifer Ott; to his parents-in-law,
- 24 John and Kim Ewell; and to his other relatives and many friends;

- 1 and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for the members of his family and that when the Texas House
- 4 of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of U.S.
- 5 Army Specialist Chad Drake.

Brown of Kaufman

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Villarreal Farrar Madden Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 380 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 14, 2005.

Chief Clerk of the House