RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of the Sheriffs' Association of Texas, one of the nation's oldest law enforcement organizations, are gathering in Austin on February 17, 2005, to participate in Sheriffs'

4 Association of Texas Day at the Capitol; and

WHEREAS, The first meeting of this esteemed association took place at the Navarro County Courthouse in Corsicana on August 14, 1874; the meeting was called to order by Sul Ross, the sheriff of McLennan County who later became an important historical figure in Texas; and

WHEREAS, At the meeting, association members adopted their preamble; the document called for sheriffs to assist one another in the execution of laws, in the discharge of their duties against criminals, and in the protection of the citizens in their respective counties and throughout the state; the group has continued to follow the dictates of this mission; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Constitution created the office of sheriff in each county of the state; legislation requires that a sheriff function as a peace officer who conserves peace and enforces the criminal laws of the state; moreover, the sheriff is responsible for the county jail, bail bonds, civil process, and the security of the courts; in some smaller counties, the sheriff may also act as the tax collector; and

23 WHEREAS, The office of sheriff is one of the oldest forms of 24 law enforcement; sheriffs in our state's 254 counties are elected

- 1 to four-year terms, and each sheriff is a member of the Sheriffs'
- 2 Association of Texas; in addition, 2,768 individuals are active
- 3 members of the group, and another 46,520 individuals are associate
- 4 members; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The Sheriffs' Association of Texas ensures that
- 6 officers carry out their duties skillfully and professionally by
- 7 frequently offering training programs and by conducting an annual
- 8 training conference; the annual conference is considered the
- 9 largest composite gathering of law enforcement officers in Texas;
- 10 it is attended by sheriffs, members of other federal and state law
- 11 enforcement agencies, and major industry security personnel; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The association also offers scholarships to
- 13 eligible students pursuing degrees at a college or university and
- 14 to Texas peace officers pursuing academic degrees; the
- association's training programs and scholarships help to ensure the
- 16 safety of our citizens and the security of communities across our
- 17 state; now, therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby recognize February 17, 2005, as Sheriffs'
- 20 Association of Texas Day at the Capitol and commend the members of
- 21 the Sheriffs' Association of Texas for their many contributions to
- 22 our state; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the
- 25 Texas House of Representatives.

Craddick

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Villarreal Farrar Madden Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon Gattis McReynolds Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 389 was adopted by the House on February 17, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House