RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Arlan and Avis Youngblood of Lamesa are the honorees for the 2005 National Hereford Show in recognition of their many years of support of the Texas Hereford Association and the Hereford industry in Texas; and

WHEREAS, The Youngbloods have been prominent figures in ranching since 1937, when family patriarch F. A. "Alton" Youngblood established the Youngblood Ranch with 21 head of 10-year-old breeding cows and one herd bull; after a second bull was purchased in 1941, the herd continued to grow, reaching 250 cows by the late 1970s; this year, the Youngblood Ranch reached a special milestone when it branded its 10,000th calf; and

WHEREAS, Demonstrating a keen eye for choosing quality stock, the Youngbloods have purchased several premier bulls over the years, and they are also known for their use of performance testing and other innovations that have enabled the ranch to remain an industry leader and a fitting recipient of this prestigious honor; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Arlan and Avis Youngblood on being named the honorees of the 2005 National Hereford Show and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further

23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 24 prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Youngblood as an expression of high regard

1 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Craddick

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon Gattis McReynolds Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 390 was adopted by the House on February 17, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House