H.R. No. 398

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Community colleges play an increasingly important 2 role in higher education in the State of Texas, and on February 17, 3 2005, a delegation of more than 1,000 Texas community college 4 students are converging at the State Capitol; and

5 WHEREAS, Leaders of the Texas Junior College Student 6 Government Association, including President Cal Pifer, are being 7 joined by community college honors students, members of the Texas 8 Community College Teachers Association, and members of the Texas 9 Association of Community Colleges to discuss the essential 10 contributions their schools make to the state; and

WHEREAS, The total annual enrollment for Texas community and technical colleges exceeds one million students, accounting for more than 44 percent of the state's postsecondary student population and the largest sector of higher education; last year alone, enrollment increased by 15 percent; and

16 WHEREAS, The community colleges of Texas clearly serve a 17 vital function in the educational and economic development of the 18 state, and it is a pleasure to welcome these outstanding students, 19 teachers, and administrators to Austin; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 21 Legislature hereby recognize February 17, 2005, as Community 22 College Student Day at the Capitol and extend to all the 23 participants best wishes for a memorable and productive visit.

Morrison

1

H.R. No. 398

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodqe Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 398

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 398 was adopted by the House on February 17, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House