H.R. No. 440

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Many proud residents of Athens are gathering at the State Capitol to celebrate Athens Day on February 23, 2005; and

WHEREAS, The county seat of Henderson County, the city of Athens began its steady development when it was reincorporated in 1901; since then, this charming East Texas town has experienced significant growth and the emergence of a dynamic citizenry; and

WHEREAS, The area's fertile terrain and temperate climate have helped to make Athens a thriving agribusiness center; in addition, the city is an outdoor enthusiast's dream, providing opportunities for scuba diving, fishing, and many other recreational activities; and

WHEREAS, This unique town hosts a number of exciting annual events, including the Athens Fiddlers' Contest and Reunion, the Chamber of Commerce PRCA Stampede Rodeo, the Athens Triathlon, the Smith MDA Benefit Rodeo, the Uncle Fletch Davis Hamburger Cook-off, and the Chamber of Commerce Business Exposition; and

WHEREAS, The home of Trinity Valley Community College, Athens boasts a number of cultural centers and tourist attractions, such as the East Texas Arboretum, the Henderson County Historical Museum, the Murchison Galleries, the Henderson County Performing Arts Center, the Cain Center, the Henderson County Fairpark Complex, and the Texas Freshwater Fisheries Center, which features 300,000 gallons of aquarium exhibits and every major species of freshwater fish found in Texas; and

H.R. No. 440

WHEREAS, This lovely city continues to be one of the Lone Star
State's great assets, and it is indeed appropriate that the
citizens of Athens be given special recognition at this time; now,
therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
Legislature hereby recognize February 23, 2005, as Athens Day at

the State Capitol and extend to all visitors from that fine city a

7

8

warm welcome.

Brown of Kaufman

H.R. No. 440

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 440 was adopted by the House on February 23, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House