H.R. No. 449

RESOLUTION

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, Fran Brown of Carrollton has been appointed to the Texas Aging and Disability Services Council, and the appointment provides an opportunity to recognize her outstanding career that has been devoted to serving the elderly population of the state; and WHEREAS, The Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services was created in September 2004 to provide a comprehensive array of cost-effective aging and disability services, supports, and opportunities that are easily accessed in local communities; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Brown brings a wealth of experience expertise to the team of experts presiding on the department's council; an in-service coordinator and instructor at Lake Village Nursing Home, she previously served on the Carrollton Planning and Zoning Commission, the Texas Municipal League, and the Texas Board of Aging; moreover, since receiving a bachelor's degree from The University of Texas at ElPaso, she has post-baccalaureate programs in gerontology and geriatric services education at UTEP and in long-term care at the UT Southwestern Medical Center; and

WHEREAS, Fran Brown has worked tirelessly in behalf of the senior citizens of the Lone Star State, and her appointment to the council will undoubtedly help to ensure that older and disabled Texans receive services that promote and enhance their well-being, dignity, and choice; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 449

- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

 Legislature hereby congratulate Fran Brown on her appointment to

 the Texas Aging and Disability Services Council and extend to her
- 4 sincere best wishes for success with her important work; and, be it
- 5 further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Ms. Brown as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Solomons

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 449 was adopted by the House on March 3, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House