RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is proud to honor
Rotary International, the world's first service club, on the 100th
anniversary of its founding; and

WHEREAS, Rotary began on February 23, 1905, when Paul P. Harris invited three friends to a meeting in downtown Chicago in an effort to enjoy camaraderie and to enlarge their circle of business and professional acquaintances; and

8 WHEREAS, Rotary's popularity soon spread throughout the 9 United States and came to Texas in 1912, when the Rotary Club of 10 Dallas was chartered in April of that year and was soon followed by 11 clubs in San Antonio, Houston, Austin, Beaumont, Galveston, Waco, 12 and Fort Worth; and

13 WHEREAS, With its motto, "Service Above Self," Rotary has 14 expanded its mission beyond serving the professional and social 15 interest of its club members to contributing their talents to help 16 communities in need; and

WHEREAS, During and after World War II, Rotary became 17 18 increasingly involved in promoting international understanding and has, for the last 60 years, actively participated in United Nations 19 conferences and helped in creating the United Nations Educational, 20 21 Scientific and Cultural Organizations, and, through the efforts of The Rotary Foundation, an endowment fund set up "for doing good in 22 23 the world," more than \$80 million annually supports a wide range of 24 humanitarian grants and educational programs that bring hope and

1

1 promote international understanding throughout the world; and

2 WHEREAS, In 1985 Rotary made a historic commitment to 3 immunize all of the world's children against polio and, by working 4 with nongovernmental organizations and national governments 5 through its PolioPlus program, Rotary International volunteers 6 have immunized more than one billion children worldwide; and

7 WHEREAS, Rotary International has, once again, expanded its 8 service effort to address the pressing issues of the 21st century: 9 environmental degradation, illiteracy, world hunger and at-risk 10 children; and

WHEREAS, Rotary clubs of Texas make up 10 districts, each led by a district governor, including Rick Akins of District 5520; Charles Cotten of District 5730; Tom Sheriff of District 5790; Gilbert Brown of District 5810; Benjamin Agnor of District 5830; John Peterson of District 5840; Gene Davenport of District 5870; D'Lisa Simmons of District 5890; Emken Linton of District 5910; and George Dawson of District 5930; and

18 WHEREAS, The Capitol of Texas Rotary Club, which meets weekly 19 at the Capitol and is the only Rotary club in the world meeting in a 20 State Capitol, continues to unite leaders and conduct service for 21 central Austin under the current club president, Benjamin Ford; 22 now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby recognizes Rotary International's 100th anniversary and extends congratulations to the more than 1.2 million Rotarians in 166 countries; and, be it further

27 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

2

- 1 prepared for each of the 10 Rotary District Governors in Texas as an
- 2 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Hunter	Eissler
Frost	Harper-Brown
Hill	Howard
Hughes	Paxton
Smith of Tarrant	Vo

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 452

Menendez

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 452 was adopted by the House on February 22, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House