H.R. No. 457

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Arlington's Martin High School Chamber Singers, 2 directed by Randy Jordan, received a most prestigious honor when 3 they were selected to perform at both the State Choir Director's 4 Convention and the National Choir Director's Convention; and

5 WHEREAS, Sponsored by the Texas Music Educators Association, 6 the state convention is an annual event held in San Antonio; Martin 7 High School Chamber Singers and 12 other choirs chosen from across 8 Texas performed on February 10, 2005, in the ballroom of the San 9 Antonio Convention Center; and

WHEREAS, The National Convention, presented every two years 10 11 by the American Choral Directors Association, was held in Los 12 Angeles in 2005; the Martin High School Chamber Singers, which 13 performed four times at the convention, including an appearance at 14 the Walt Disney Performance Hall in downtown Los Angeles, belong to an elite group of only 100 choirs selected from around the world to 15 perform at this prestigious event; the group also provided the 16 service music for the First Presbyterian Church of Santa Monica on 17 18 Sunday, February 6, 2005; and

WHEREAS, These talented choir members and their director are a source of tremendous pride to the Lone Star State; they may take great pride in their outstanding achievements and they are most deserving of special recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
Legislature hereby honor the Martin High School Chamber Singers and

1

director, Randy Jordan, for being selected to perform at the 2005 State Choir Director's Convention in San Antonio and at the National Choir Director's Convention held in Los Angeles in February 2005; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the choir as an expression of high regard by the Texas 7 House of Representatives.

Zedler

H.R. No. 457

H.R. No. 457

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 457 was adopted by the House on March 3, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House