RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, February 23, 2005, is Children's Advocacy Centers of Texas Day at the Capitol, and it is appropriate to take this opportunity to recognize the work of this fine organization; and

WHEREAS, Children's Advocacy Centers of Texas, Incorporated, (CACTX) was founded with a charter membership of 13 local advocacy centers and has grown to include 59 local centers throughout the state, which makes it the largest organization of its kind in the nation; and

WHEREAS, The local advocacy centers work to restore normalcy in the lives of abused children and create partnerships with communities and agencies to foster the investigation and prosecution of child abuse cases; and

WHEREAS, Child abuse and neglect continue to occur with devastating consequences; studies indicate that abused and neglected children are more likely to be arrested for a juvenile crime and more likely to be arrested as an adult; and

WHEREAS, CACTX utilizes four diverse disciplines, law enforcement, criminal justice, social work, and medical and mental health, to create a collaborative model to address the issue of child abuse; this collaboration results in prompt, efficient, and comprehensive sharing of information and evidence and diminishes the often traumatic investigative process; and

WHEREAS, Child abuse and neglect remain pressing issues that should concern all the citizens of the state; local advocacy

- 1 centers offer abused children a safe haven with accessible
- 2 information and therapeutic services to engender healing; now,
- 3 therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby commend Children's Advocacy Centers,
- 6 Incorporated, for its contributions to communities across the state
- 7 and honor its worthy achievements on Children's Advocacy Centers of
- 8 Texas Day; and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the
- 11 Texas House of Representatives.

Goodman

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 475 was adopted by the House on February 23, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House