H.R. No. 486

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On March 2, 2005, many proud Northeast Texas 2 residents are visiting Austin in celebration of Rains County Day at 3 the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Rains County was created in the late 1800s from Hopkins, Hunt, and Wood Counties; the county and its seat, Emory, were named in honor of Emory Rains, an early pioneer who served in the Congress of the Republic of Texas; and

8 WHEREAS, Rains County is one of the smallest counties in the 9 state but is the 20th-fastest-growing county in the country; and

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, Situated between Lake Tawakoni and Lake Fork Reservoir, this lovely area is blessed with an abundant water supply and fertile soil characteristic of the Blackland Prairie region; the county initially prospered as a thriving agricultural and ranching center and today enjoys a diverse economy that includes oil production, manufacturing, and tourism; and

WHEREAS, Emory, which was originally known as Springville, is now the largest town in Rains County with just over 1,000 people; it is home to the Rains County Fair Grounds, the site of the annual Eagle Fest celebration held in January, when the county's lakes are the winter home of many American bald eagles and other rare birds; and

WHEREAS, The city of Point was incorporated in 1966 and is recognized as the birthplace of the National Farmers Union, an organization that has grown to include more than 300,000 members;

H.R. No. 486

1 and

WHEREAS, The county's youngest municipality, East Tawakoni was incorporated in 1967 and has experienced significant growth in recent years; this resort area offers residents the benefits of a relaxed rural community while providing easy access to Dallas; and WHEREAS, Proof positive that good things do come in small packages, Rains County has indeed played a vital role in the development of the Lone Star State, and it is a pleasure to join with our fellow Texans in saluting the county and its fine citizens; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby recognize March 2, 2005, as Rains County Day at the State Capitol and extend to the Rains County residents who are visiting here today sincere best wishes for an informative and

memorable stay in the Capitol City.

Flynn

H.R. No. 486

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

TT	_	7. T	486
н	ν	$N \cap$	7126

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 486 was adopted by the House on March 2, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House