H.R. No. 493

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Twelve outstanding young Texans from Troop 399 of 2 the Capitol Area Council, Longhorn District, achieved the highest 3 rank bestowed by the Boy Scouts of America when they received their 4 Eagle Scout badges at a special Court of Honor held on January 30, 5 2005; and

WHEREAS, Becoming an Eagle 6 Scout is а significant achievement, attained by fewer than four percent of all those who 7 enter the scouting movement; in order to earn an Eagle Scout 8 insignia, Boy Scouts must fulfill requirements in the areas of 9 leadership, service, and outdoor skills, including earning 21 merit 10 11 badges and successfully completing an Eagle Scout project of 12 benefit to his community; and

WHEREAS, The new Eagle Scouts of Troop 399 are Kyle Matthew Hooks, Matthew Whitten Kenny, Bradley Patrick O'Connell, Benjamin Thomas Ferguson, Thomas Edward Luker, Andrew Robert Butler, David Robert Hays, William Britton Dawson, Brian Scott Grundy, Adam Russell Zimmerman, Martin Chapman Bauer, and Jack David Thompson, all of Austin; and

WHEREAS, The dedication to excellence and the perseverance in the pursuit of their goals that these young men have demonstrated have proven them worthy to stand among scouting's elite, and it is most appropriate that they be honored at this time; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

1

1 Legislature hereby congratulate Eagle Scouts Hooks, Kenny, 2 O'Connell, Ferguson, Luker, Butler, Hays, Dawson, Grundy, Zimmerman, Bauer, and Thompson, and extend to them sincere best 3 4 wishes for success in all of their future endeavors; and, be it 5 further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

7 prepared for the troop as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

6

Naishtat

H.R. No. 493

H.R. No. 493

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 493 was adopted by the House on February 23, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House