By: Naishtat H.R. No. 493

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Twelve outstanding young Texans from Troop 399 of the Capitol Area Council, Longhorn District, achieved the highest rank bestowed by the Boy Scouts of America when they received their Eagle Scout badges at a special Court of Honor held on January 30, 2005; and

WHEREAS, Becoming an Eagle Scout is a significant achievement, attained by fewer than four percent of all those who enter the scouting movement; in order to earn an Eagle Scout insignia, Boy Scouts must fulfill requirements in the areas of leadership, service, and outdoor skills, including earning 21 merit badges and successfully completing an Eagle Scout project of benefit to his community; and

WHEREAS, The new Eagle Scouts of Troop 399 are Kyle Matthew Hooks, Matthew Whitten Kenny, Bradley Patrick O'Connell, Benjamin Thomas Ferguson, Thomas Edward Luker, Andrew Robert Butler, David Robert Hays, William Britton Dawson, Brian Scott Grundy, Adam Russell Zimmerman, Martin Chapman Bauer, and Jack David Thompson, all of Austin; and

WHEREAS, The dedication to excellence and the perseverance in the pursuit of their goals that these young men have demonstrated have proven them worthy to stand among scouting's elite, and it is most appropriate that they be honored at this time; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

H.R. No. 493

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Eagle Scouts Hooks, Kenny,
- 2 O'Connell, Ferguson, Luker, Butler, Hays, Dawson, Grundy,
- 3 Zimmerman, Bauer, and Thompson, and extend to them sincere best
- 4 wishes for success in all of their future endeavors; and, be it
- 5 further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the troop as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.