H.R. No. 495

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A century of living is indeed a special reason for 2 celebration, and on February 24, 2005, Susie Lewis of Houston marks 3 the singular event of her 100th birthday; and

WHEREAS, Born on February 24, 1905, in Bossier City, Louisiana, Mrs. Lewis moved with her family to Shreveport so she and her five brothers and four sisters could attend better schools; from an early age, she showed a talent for dress designing and became well known for it throughout Houston, after having moved there in 1929 to be near one of her sisters; and

10 WHEREAS, After she married, she and her husband, George Lewis 11 purchased a home in the Fifth Ward; she became an active member of 12 the Olivett Missionary Baptist Church, where she taught Sunday 13 school and served for 55 years as president of the Olivett 14 Missionary Society; and

WHEREAS, An excellent cook, Mrs. Lewis was known as the "Tea Cake Lady" for her practice of sharing her baked goods with friends and neighbors in the community, and she also opened a small nursery school for the children of young working mothers in the Fifth Ward; and

20 WHEREAS, The birthday of Susie Lewis provides a fitting 21 opportunity to honor this delightful Texan, whose kindness and 22 friendship have brightened the lives of so many people; now, 23 therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

1

H.R. No. 495
Legislature hereby warmly congratulate Susie Lewis on the joyous
occasion of her 100th birthday and extend to her sincere best wishes
for continued happiness and good fortune; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mrs. Lewis as an expression of high regard by the Texas

6 House of Representatives.

Dutton

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 495

Menendez

H.R. No. 495

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 495 was adopted by the House on February 24, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House