H.R. No. 512

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Citizens from Shelby County, including members of 2 the Shelby County Chamber of Commerce, and the Leadership Shelby

County Class of 2005 are celebrating Shelby County Day at the State

Capitol on March 3, 2005; and 4

5 WHEREAS, Originally organized by the Mexican government as 6 the Tenehaw Municipality, this lovely region was reconstituted as Shelby County by the Congress of the Republic of Texas in 1836 and 7 named for Isaac Shelby, a United States Revolutionary soldier from 8

9 Tennessee; and

3

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

24

WHEREAS, Nestled deep in the Piney Woods of East Texas, Shelby County is rich in natural resources, with the area's economy boosted by timber, cattle, and poultry production; although agriculture has provided the foundation of the county's economy, it was enhanced by manufacturing beginning in 1850; and

WHEREAS, Center, the county seat and largest town, is home to the Shelby County Museum, Shelby Junior College, and the county courthouse, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as the only Irish castle-style courthouse in the nation; other vital towns in the area include Shelbyville, the original county seat, Timpson, Tenaha, Joaquin, Huxley, and Arcadia; moreover, the Toledo Bend Reservoir and the Sabine National Forest provide splendid outdoor recreation for the county's tourists and

23 visitors; and

WHEREAS, This unique and vibrant county continues to be one

H.R. No. 512

- 1 of the Lone Star State's most treasured regions, and it is a
- 2 pleasure to pay tribute to the residents of Shelby County and their
- 3 contributions to our fair state; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby recognize March 3, 2005, as Shelby County Day at
- 6 the State Capitol and extend to the delegation here today sincere
- 7 best wishes for an enjoyable visit.

Blake

Η	R.	No.	512

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 512 was adopted by the House on March 3, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House