H.R. No. 527

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The members of St. Andrew Lutheran Church in Houston
celebrated the 50th anniversary of their church's founding on
August 29, 2004; and

WHEREAS, In 1954, the Houston area Missions Committee and the Texas District Mission Board selected a five-acre wooded tract of land in the West Spring Branch area as the site for a new Lutheran mission church; on August 29 of that year, 39 people gathered to worship in the living room of the parsonage of Pastor Gerald Otte, and three months later, a charter was drawn for the church, which then had 64 members; and

11 WHEREAS, St. Andrew's congregation has had the privilege of 12 strong leadership in its five-decade history; beginning with Pastor 13 Otte, the church has benefited from the sure guidance of Pastor 14 George Aurich, Pastor Charles Rathgeber, Pastor Harold Fleischhauer, Associate Pastor Tom Hadley, intentional interim 15 Pastor Martin Teske, and Pastor Paul Ferguson, who currently 16 presides over the church; and 17

18 WHEREAS, For half a century, St. Andrew Lutheran Church has 19 been a source of comfort and spiritual strength for members from 20 throughout the Houston area who gather to pray at this venerable 21 house of worship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby recognize St. Andrew Lutheran Church in Houston on the 50th anniversary of its founding and extend to its members

1

H.R. No. 527

and pastor sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Bohac

H.R. No. 527

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 527 was adopted by the House on March 23, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House