RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The family and friends of U.S. Marine Lance Corporal
Rhonald Dain Rairdan of San Antonio suffered an immeasurable loss
with the death of this valiant soldier on January 26, 2005, at the
age of 20; and
WHEREAS, A machine gunner, Dain Rairdan died in the crash of a
Super Stallion transport helicopter near Ar Rutbah, Iraq; and

WHEREAS, This brave young Texan was born on April 22, 1984, at Eglin Air Force Base in Florida into a family with a proud military tradition that goes back generations; reared in Medina County, he was a 2003 graduate of Medina Valley High School, where he was a member of the Junior ROTC Blackhawks Drill Team; following high school, he fulfilled his lifelong dream of joining the U.S. Marine Corps; and

WHEREAS, Our state and nation are fortunate to have men and women whose love for their country inspires them to take up military service, yet the tragic death of this exemplary young man is a sobering reminder of the cost of war; Lance Corporal Rairdan embodied the highest ideals of the U.S. Armed Forces, and those who knew and loved him will forever carry him close in their hearts; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby pay special tribute to the life of U.S. Marine Lance Corporal Rhonald Dain Rairdan and extend deepest sympathy to the members of his family: to his parents, David and Kimberly Wilmot

- 1 Rairdan; to his brother, William Kyle Rairdan; to his grandparents,
- 2 William and Barbara Wilmot and Janice and Carl Zechner; and to the
- 3 other family members and many friends of this beloved young man;
- 4 and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 7 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of U.S. Marine
- 8 Lance Corporal Rhonald Dain Rairdan.

King of Zavala

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 541 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 8, 2005.

Chief Clerk of the House