H.R. No. 542

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to
 recognize February 28, 2005, as Prairie View A&M University and
 Alumni Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Prairie View A&M University originated in the Texas 4 5 Constitution of 1876 when legislators, after the establishment of 6 the Agricultural & Mechanical College of Texas, pledged in the Texas Constitution of 1876 that "separate schools shall be provided 7 for white and colored children, and impartial provisions shall be 8 made for both"; on August 14, 1876, the Texas Legislature 9 established the "Alta Vista Agricultural and Mechanical College of 10 11 Texas for Colored Youths"; and

12 WHEREAS, The university was established as a Land Grant 13 College under the federal Morrill Acts of 1862 and 1890 and began 14 its tradition of agricultural research and community service, which 15 continues today; and

16 WHEREAS, In 1945, the name of the institution was changed 17 from Prairie View Normal and Industrial College to Prairie View 18 University, and the school was authorized to offer, "as need 19 arises," all courses offered at The University of Texas; and

20 WHEREAS, In 1947, the Texas Legislature changed the name to 21 Prairie View A&M College of Texas and provided that "courses be 22 offered in agriculture, the mechanic arts, engineering, and the 23 natural sciences connected therewith, together with any other 24 course authorized at Prairie View at the time of passage of this

1

act, all of which shall be equivalent to those offered at the
 Agricultural and Mechanical College of Texas at Bryan"; and

H.R. No. 542

3 WHEREAS, On August 27, 1973, the name of the institution was 4 changed to Prairie View A&M University, and its status as an 5 independent unit of the Texas A&M University System was 6 reconfirmed; and

7 WHEREAS, On November 6, 1984, the voters of Texas approved a 8 constitutional amendment that restructured the permanent 9 university fund to include Prairie View A&M University and also 10 designated the university as an "institution of the first-class" 11 under the governing board of the Texas A&M University System; and

12 WHEREAS, In January 1985, the board of regents of the Texas 13 A&M University System responded to the 1984 constitutional 14 amendment by stating its intention that Prairie View A&M University 15 become "an institution nationally recognized in its areas of 16 education and research" and resolved that the university receive 17 its share of the available university fund as previously agreed to 18 by Texas A&M University and The University of Texas at Austin; and

WHEREAS, Prairie View A&M University, because of Texas' history of racial discrimination, has had a special role in educating African Americans, many of whom have established themselves as professionals in the fields of business, education, engineering, medicine, and nursing, providing services not only to the citizens of Texas but also to those of the nation and the world; and

26 WHEREAS, The university, its alumni, faculty, staff, and 27 student body have victoriously weathered the period of legal

2

1 segregation and continue their noble struggle to overcome vestiges
2 of the former <u>de jure</u> racially dual system of public higher
3 education in Texas; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby express appreciation to Prairie View A&M University and alumni for their many contributions to the State of Texas and best wishes to all who are participating in Prairie View A&M University and Alumni Day at the State Capitol; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared for the 11 university as an expression of esteem from the Texas House of 12 Representatives.

Coleman

H.R. No. 542

3

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

## H.R. No. 542

Menendez

H.R. No. 542

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 542 was adopted by the House on February 28, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House