H.R. No. 552

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A group of proud Texans is visiting Austin on
February 28, 2005, to celebrate the many fine attributes of
Rockwall County; and

WHEREAS, Before its establishment in 1873, Rockwall County formed a part of Nacogdoches, Henderson, and Kaufman Counties; the area takes its name from an extensive, largely subterranean rock formation discovered in the mid-19th century by farmers digging a well; and

WHEREAS, Recently celebrating its 150th anniversary, the 9 county seat, also named Rockwall, was founded along with Heath on 10 11 the National Road of the Republic of Texas, a major route used by 12 settlers that ran from the Dallas area to the Red River; today, the City of Rockwall's Historic Preservation Advisory Board, the "Old 13 14 Town" Rockwall Neighborhood Association, and the Rockwall County Historical Foundation direct their efforts toward preserving the 15 notable history of the region for future generations; and 16

WHEREAS, Nearly 51,000 Texans make their home in Rockwall County's 148 square miles, where they can enjoy the pleasures of rural and small-town life while living just a short drive away from the big-city amenities of the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex; in addition to Rockwall and Heath, other communities in the county include Fate, McLendon-Chisholm, Mobile City, Royse City, and Rowlett; and

24

WHEREAS, Contributing to the quality of life in Rockwall

1

H.R. No. 552

1 County are strong schools and an array of cultural organizations, 2 including musical and theatrical groups; bordered on the west by 3 Lake Ray Hubbard, the county offers exceptional sailing, fishing, 4 and boating for outdoor enthusiasts as well as numerous parks and 5 abundant other recreational opportunities; and

6 WHEREAS, The smallest of the Lone Star State's 254 counties, 7 Rockwall County is nonetheless home to people who demonstrate 8 Texas-sized heart and spirit; now, therefore, be it

9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 10 Legislature hereby recognize February 28, 2005, as Rockwall County 11 Day at the State Capitol and extend to all those residents of the 12 county here today warmest wishes for a memorable visit.

Laubenberg

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 552

Menendez

H.R. No. 552

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 552 was adopted by the House on February 28, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House