H.R. No. 553

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Residents of the city of Irving are gathering at the
 State Capitol on March 1, 2005, to celebrate the contributions of
 their fair city; and

WHEREAS, With a population of approximately 197,000 residents, Irving is located between Dallas and Fort Worth, adjacent to the Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport; and

7 WHEREAS, The city is home to more than 2,000 companies, 8 including over 30 Fortune 500 companies and the world headquarters 9 of ExxonMobil and Kimberly Clark, as well as the national and 10 regional headquarters of AAA Texas, Boy Scouts of America, EF 11 Johnson, Flowserve, MADD, NEC America, Nokia, Microsoft, Verizon, 12 and Zale; and

WHEREAS, This booming area is also home to two premier master-planned business and residential communities, Las Colinas and Valley Ranch; and

16 WHEREAS, Contributing to the quality of life in the city are 17 its many strong public schools and three "recognized" school 18 districts, as well as a number of respected private and charter 19 schools; five colleges and universities in or near the Irving-Las 20 Colinas Community also provide superior educational possibilities 21 for students seeking a higher education; and

22 WHEREAS, Irving's highly educated workforce of more than two 23 million, aged 25 and over, lives within a 30-minute commute of the 24 city; representing more than 25 different nations of origin, these

1

H.R. No. 553
1 professionals bring with them rich cultural heritages that endow
2 the city with a multinational atmosphere; and

3 WHEREAS, The citizens of Irving are indeed justified in 4 promoting the economic and educational strengths of their thriving 5 city, and it is a pleasure to honor them on this special day; now, 6 therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 8 Legislature hereby recognize March 1, 2005, as Irving Day at the 9 State Capitol and extend to its city council members, corporate 10 executives, chamber representatives, and other citizens present 11 today a warm welcome to Austin.

Harper-Brown

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 553

Menendez

H.R. No. 553

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 553 was adopted by the House on March 1, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House