By: Hill

H.R. No. 557

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is proud to honor 2 The University of Texas at Dallas and the members of its government 3 honors program on the occasion of their visit to the State Capitol 4 on March 2, 2005; and

5 WHEREAS, Since it first began admitting freshmen in 1990, The 6 University of Texas at Dallas has consistently ranked among the 7 highest in the nation and is in the top two in Texas in student 8 selectivity ratings and SAT scores for incoming freshmen; UT-Dallas 9 has accomplished these impressive feats while also becoming the 10 fastest growing selective public institution of higher education in 11 the Lone Star State; and

WHEREAS, This exemplary university offers an innovative and progressive curriculum and currently grants more computer science degrees than any other institution of higher learning in the state; moreover, it has brought national recognition to the state through its success in academic competitions, including debate, chess, and college bowl; and

WHEREAS, The school's government and politics program has won wide acclaim for its commitment to fostering interest in Texas politics and civic responsibility among the university's Collegium V Honors Program and McDermott Scholars Program through the Center for the Study of Texas Politics; and

23 WHEREAS, The talented students who are currently studying 24 Texas politics and leadership in the Texas Center program have

1

H.R. No. 557

demonstrated the impressive academic drive and commitment that is typical of students at UTD, and it is indeed appropriate to honor these future leaders of the Lone Star State and The University of Texas at Dallas; now, therefore, be it

5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 6 Legislature hereby commend The University of Texas at Dallas for 7 its outstanding efforts to educate our state's future leaders and 8 extend an official welcome to Professor Greg Thielemann, director 9 of the Center for the Study of Texas Politics, and to the honors 10 students visiting on this day.

2