H.R. No. 597

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Family and friends deeply mourn the passing of Betty 2 Jo Peacock Hay of Dallas, who died at the age of 73 on February 16, 3 2005, but they may take comfort in memories of a life filled with 4 joyful times and meaningful accomplishments; and

5 WHEREAS, The former president of the National Mental Health 6 Association, Betty Jo Hay was widely admired for her tireless 7 advocacy in behalf of children, education, and mental health 8 issues, and her work influenced public policy and inspired 9 generations of volunteers; and

WHEREAS, Born in McAlester, Oklahoma, Mrs. Hay moved to 10 Dallas with her family when she was 12 and attended Sunset High 11 12 School; a skilled debater, she developed a lifelong passion for politics following the election of her uncle, Carl Albert, to the 13 14 United States Congress; after graduating from Southern Methodist University with a bachelor's degree in speech, she married Jess 15 Hay, a fellow debater; the early years of her marriage were spent 16 volunteering for political campaigns and raising two daughters; and 17

18 WHEREAS, Mrs. Hay's civic life was centered around a deep 19 interest in the role of education in the lives of young people, and 20 her decades of service included 13 consecutive years as a PTA room 21 mother and six years on the Coordinating Board of the Texas College 22 and University System; in 1972, she received a phone call asking her 23 to serve as chair of the Galaxy Ball, the annual fund-raiser for the 24 Texas Mental Health Association, and thus began a volunteer career

1

devoted to needs of the mental health community; she joined the organization's national board in 1978 and was elected president of the Dallas chapter in 1981 and 1982; after serving as president of the state organization, she was elected to serve as president of the National Mental Health Association in 1986; and

H.R. No. 597

6 WHEREAS, This tenacious woman and her husband combined their 7 interests in education and health to fund the Betty Jo Hay 8 Distinguished Chair in Mental Health at UT Southwestern, and the 9 couple's gifts to the school have helped fund a research center for 10 mood disorders; in 1990, Mrs. Hay received the Sandy Brandt 11 Volunteer Award, the National Mental Health Association's highest 12 honor for volunteers; and

WHEREAS, Another proud moment in the life of this notable 13 14 civic leader came when she was appointed by the United States Senate 15 to serve on the 18-member National Commission on Children; this appointment provided only one of many venues through which she made 16 17 her voice heard on issues facing young people: she also served as a member of the Texas Commission on Children and Youth, 18 the Governor's Council on Disabilities, the National Committee for the 19 Prevention of Child Abuse, and the Hogg Foundation's commission on 20 21 children and their families, to name but a few; and

WHEREAS, A loving mother and grandmother, Mrs. Hay was an 22 ardent Democrat with a vivacious, good-humored personality that 23 24 complemented her deep intellectual prowess; she was а 25 much-treasured citizen of Dallas and will be deeply missed by those 26 who knew her and by those who were touched by her extraordinary 27 commitment to community service; now, therefore, be it

2

H.R. No. 597

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 2 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Betty Jo Peacock Hay 3 and extend deepest sympathy to the members of her family: to her 4 husband, Jess Hay; to her daughters, Deborah Hay Spradley and Patricia Hay Daibert; to her son-in-law, E. Webb Spradley; to her 5 6 grandchildren, Jessica Kathryn Werner, Rachel Hay Spradley, and 7 Jess Hay Daibert; and to the many other members of her family and friends; and, be it further 8

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of 11 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Betty Jo 12 Hay.

> Hodge Goolsby

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 597

Menendez

H.R. No. 597

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 597 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 3, 2005.

Chief Clerk of the House