H.R. No. 610

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The San Felipe Del Rio Veterans Honor Guard has 2 distinguished itself as a vital and valued asset to the citizens of 3 Del Rio and South Texas, and it is indeed fitting that its members 4 be lauded for their contributions to the community; and

5 WHEREAS, Founded by Jesse Cardenas in 1979 to fulfill the 6 role of honor guard at the funerals of fellow veterans, the group 7 was originally trained by a serviceman from Laughlin Air Force 8 Base; and

9 WHEREAS, In addition to its funeral duties, the San Felipe 10 Del Rio Veterans Honor Guard performs at special ceremonies on 11 Memorial Day, Veterans Day, and Pearl Harbor Day, and its color 12 guard is often called upon to raise the American flag on appropriate 13 occasions; and

14 WHEREAS, The unswerving dedication and discipline of the 15 honor guard has held fast for more than a quarter of a century, 16 garnering the admiration and appreciation of all those who honor 17 the military and its members; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 19 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the San Felipe Del Rio Veterans 20 Honor Guard and extend sincere appreciation to its members past and 21 present; and, be it further

22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 23 prepared for the honor guard as an expression of high regard by the 24 Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

1

H.R. No. 610

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 610

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 610 was adopted by the House on March 17, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House