By: Truitt H.R. No. 636

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Carroll High School Dragons football team has 1 2 reached the pinnacle of success by winning the 2004 UIL Class 5A State Championship and earning the title of national high school 3 football champions from the National Prep Poll and the USA Today 4 5 Super 25 poll; and WHEREAS, Capping a stellar 16-0 season, the Carroll Dragons 6 claimed their second state crown in three years with a hard-fought 7 27-24 victory over Smithson Valley in front of 27,000 screaming 8 9 fans; and WHEREAS, Members of this outstanding football squad include 10 11 Ryan Murray, Cameron Parker, Anthony Ford, Chase Daniel, Pete 12 Fleps, McKay Jacobson, Chase Reynolds, Sam Pleg, Rod Courson, Jay Ward, Beau Galbraith, Riley Dodge, Brad DeFratus, Kenton Gedwed, 13 14 James Allen, Greg McElroy, Zak Presley, Clint Renfro, Aaron Luna,

Arius Ford, Tre Newton, Joseph Huggins, Matt Moody, Joseph Agnew,

Drew Winsett, Josh Rettig, Kevin Ortega, Robbie Walker, Paul

Halicki, Scott Simpson, Adam Hansen, Matt Moorefield, Patrick

Benoist, Adam Wilson, Eric Fleps, Jared Junker, Joe Van Breeman, Ty

Samples, Jimmy Carter, Jason Junker, Alex Haitz, Brad Keiser,

Austin Shrum, Spencer Elliott, Kyle Russo, Matt Harrison, Tom

Fleps, Joe Graff, Justin Padron, Justin Braddock, Chris Alberto,

Greg LeHane, Trey Reece, Sean Mills, John Morrow, Ian O'Connor,

David Bingaman, Ryan Hopkins, John Paine, Aaron Stacy, Ben Jackson,

Bryce Buford, Justin Drescher, Adam Parchue, Billy Anderson, Ryan

79R6819 MW-D

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

H.R. No. 636

- 1 Trabert, Ken Stone, Chad Swenson, Mitch Enright, Luis Lisea, Blake
- 2 West, Travis Stacy, Adam Powers, Kevin Brown, Michael Lacava, Grant
- 3 Johnson, Jonathan Skinner, Bubba Gregg, Rovert Darnell, Blake
- 4 Gentry, Kris Swanson, Austin Coan, Sean Farley, Michael Boydston,
- 5 Kevin Swanson, Michael Prince, Justin Vaughn, Robert Hill, Corbin
- 6 Smiter, Hayes Stripling, Matt Grey, Blake Tomlin, Corey Rucci, Eric
- 7 Steffanson, Joe Olvetti, Bret Carroll, Bryce Jones, Andrew Sanchez,
- 8 Bret Rappleye, Mason Schlabs, Brad King, Sam Stevenson, Chris
- 9 Martinez, Matt Hampton, Gerren Sanders, Kyle Lynch, James Hubbard,
- 10 Tim Tye, Ryan Sebring, and Josh Renberg; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Head coach Todd Dodge provided inspirational
- 12 leadership and guidance to his charges, enabling his players to
- 13 achieve their outstanding record; Coach Dodge was ably assisted by:
- 14 Ron Mendoza, defensive coordinator, Travis Pride, offensive
- 15 coordinator, and by Matthew Allen, Robert Drake, Todd Ford, Dave
- 16 Fuller, Larry Hughes, Paul Pinson, Chris Savage, Jeremy Trojacek,
- 17 Jason Tucker, Blaine Barnett, Eli Melton, Hank Semler, Dusty Allen,
- 18 Chris Assaf, Rob Barker, Jason Childress, Tre John, Aaron
- 19 Lineweaver, James Stuaert, Doug Teckel, Derek Abell, Kody
- 20 Truebenbach, and Kristen Wood; Ronnie Tipps is the athletic
- 21 director; and
- 22 WHEREAS, These exceptional football players, together with
- 23 their coaches and staff, are a source of tremendous pride to the
- 24 students and faculty at Carroll High School and to their many
- 25 supporters in the community, and it is most appropriate that they be
- 26 honored for their impressive achievement; now, therefore, be it
- 27 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

H.R. No. 636

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate the members, coaches, and staff of
- 2 the Carroll High School football team on winning the 2004 UIL Class
- 3 5A State Championship and on being named the national high school
- 4 football champions; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Carroll High School as an expression of high regard by
- 7 the Texas House of Representatives.