RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Firefighter Kevin Kulow of Sealy died in the line of 2 duty on April 4, 2004, at the age of 32, and the tragic passing of 3 this heroic Texan deeply saddened the communities he served and all

4 who were privileged to know him; and

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

5 WHEREAS, Mr. Kulow exemplified, in his personal and 6 professional conduct, the singular virtues of courage, integrity, 7 and unwavering dedication; and

WHEREAS, A loving son, husband, and father, he dreamed of becoming a firefighter as a young boy; he worked as a junior firefighter while in high school and later served 12 years with the Sealy Volunteer Fire Department; in 2003, he graduated from the Val Jahnke training facility and joined the Houston Fire Department; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his career, Kevin Kulow established a record of meritorious action that is consistent with the highest ideals of the fire-fighting profession; he was a passionate defender of life and property, and although he is deeply missed, the legacy of selflessness and bravery that he leaves behind will not soon be forgotten; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby pay special tribute to the life of Kevin Kulow and extend deepest sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife, Marla; to his stepson, Justin Reynolds and son, Kyle; to his parents, Daniel and Elaine Kulow; and to all those who mourn the

- 1 passing of this beloved gentleman; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 4 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Kevin
- 5 Kulow.

Kolkhorst

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 644 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 8, 2005.

Chief Clerk of the House