H.R. No. 651

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Those individuals who risk their personal safety in
- 2 order to come to the aid of their fellow Texans are truly heroes
- 3 deserving of special recognition and gratitude; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Del Rio resident Richard D. Urban, Jr., and
- 5 Department of Public Safety Troopers Joe E. Dueñez and Bobby White
- 6 are three such individuals, as their actions of June 2003
- 7 eloquently demonstrate; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Toward the end of their shift, Troopers Dueñez and
- 9 White were summoned to an emergency call, and on arriving at the
- 10 U.S. Highway 277 bridge saw two women holding onto a man who had
- 11 leaped the railing and was attempting to throw himself off the
- 12 bridge; and
- WHEREAS, The troopers quickly moved to take hold of the man,
- 14 who was struggling and screaming, but found that they were unable to
- 15 pull him to safety; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Urban, who had observed the scene in passing,
- 17 offered his help to the troopers, and together they succeeded in
- 18 pulling the man back to safety; and
- 19 WHEREAS, In recognition of their timely and courageous
- 20 action, Troopers Dueñez and White were awarded the DPS Director's
- 21 Citation and Mr. Urban received the DPS Director's Award, and these
- 22 honors are indeed merited by the trio's actions; now, therefore, be
- 23 it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

H.R. No. 651

- 1 Legislature hereby honor Joe E. Dueñez, Richard D. Urban, Jr., and
- 2 Bobby White for their valiant efforts in behalf of their fellow
- 3 Texans and extend to each of them sincere best wishes for the
- 4 future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 6 for the three men as an expression of high regard by the Texas House
- 7 of Representatives.

Gallego

H.R. No. 651

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Villarreal Farrar Madden Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

TT	_	7. T	\sim \sim 1
Н	ν	NO	651

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 651 was adopted by the House on March 17, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House