H.R. No. 691

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is proud to pay tribute to the men and women who have donated organs so that others might live and to the Texas Transplantation Society, which seeks to promote and facilitate transplantation within the State of Texas; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Transplantation Society has invited transplant physicians, surgeons, nurses, organ recipients, living donors, and family members of donors to the State Capitol today to draw attention to the shortage of organ donors; and

10

11

12

13

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, More than 87,000 men, women, and children nationwide are currently awaiting transplants of life-saving organs, and the number increases daily; of those waiting, over 5,800 reside in Texas; and

WHEREAS, Nationally, more than 6,000 people died last year while waiting for a life-saving transplant, and almost 400 people died while waiting in Texas; and

WHEREAS, It is the goal of the Texas Transplantation Society
to educate Texans about the critical shortage of donors and the
life-saving benefits of transplantation; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby recognize March 8, 2005, as Transplant Day at the State Capitol and commend the Texas Transplantation Society and the Organ Procurement Organizations of Texas for their significant efforts to highlight this important health concern; and, be it

H.R. No. 691

- 1 further
- 2 RESOLVED, That the Texas House of Representatives also
- 3 commend all those compassionate Texans who have chosen to share the
- 4 gift of life with others as organ donors and encourage all Texans to
- 5 consider making this important choice in behalf of their fellow
- 6 citizens; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the Texas Transplantation Society as an expression of
- 9 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Dawson

TT	_	7. T	6 Q 1
Н	ν	NΩ	691

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 691 was adopted by the House on March 8, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House