H.R. No. 705

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of an admirable volunteer organization, the
Parent Association for the Retarded of Texas, are visiting the
State Capitol on March 8, 2005; and

WHEREAS, Founded in 1974, PART is composed of families, guardians, and friends of people with mental retardation; PART employs no paid staff: its members work individually and collectively to promote the best possible care for the mentally retarded; and

9 WHEREAS, Many individuals with mental retardation are 10 profoundly or severely retarded and may also have behavior 11 problems, multiple handicaps, and/or fragile health; for these 12 vulnerable citizens, a protected environment, specially trained 13 staff, and specialized programs are essential to providing the 14 highest possible quality of life; and

WHEREAS, Those involved in PART seek to inform themselves and others of all state and national matters that affect the welfare of Texans with mental retardation; they strive to ensure that a full range of services and a full continuum of living arrangements are available, and they endeavor to make certain that the parent or guardian's right of placement choice for their mentally retarded family member is respected and honored; and

22 WHEREAS, For more than 30 years, members of PART have 23 staunchly supported treatment policies and procedures that 24 recognize the unique needs of each mentally retarded individual,

1

and their efforts have played a vital role in promoting awareness and understanding of the exceptional challenges faced by those with mental retardation; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby welcome members of the Parent Association for the Retarded of Texas to the State Capitol and extend to all those associated with PART sincere appreciation for their tremendous dedication to the welfare of the state's mentally retarded citizens.

Uresti

H.R. No. 705

H.R. No. 705

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 705 was adopted by the House on March 31, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House