H.R. No. 718

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Knights of Peter Claver and the members of its 2 ladies auxiliary, Council and Court No. 72, are hosting their 3 annual scholarship luncheon and fashion gala in Houston on March 4 19, 2005; and

5 WHEREAS. This highly anticipated event provides an 6 opportunity each year to take a moment to recognize the contributions of this notable group, which has long assisted the 7 economically disadvantaged, the sick, and the disabled, while also 8 9 succeeding in its goals to encourage and support higher education and to train and develop civic leaders; and 10

11 WHEREAS, Attendees participating in the 2005 event are also 12 honoring deserving "Pioneers in the Community," men and women who 13 embody the ideals of the organization and who serve as role models for youths and leaders of their communities; this year's pioneers 14 include: Nana Arceneaux, Ruby D. Barras, Beverly Green, Wallace 15 Guidry, Deacon Irvin Johnson, Vicki Johnson, Dr. Levi Perry, Dr. 16 Eula Faye Perry, Robert Pradia, Dr. Etta Frances Walker, Agnes V. 17 18 Wiltz, Daisy Young, and Horace Young; and

WHEREAS, The Knights of Peter Claver and the members of its ladies auxiliary are to be commended for their devotion to helping their fellow Texans, as are their esteemed guests of honor who have truly distinguished themselves as exceptional citizens; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

1

Legislature hereby commemorate the 2005 annual scholarship luncheon and fashion gala and congratulate the Knights of Peter Claver and its ladies auxiliary, Council and Court No. 72, as well as the "Pioneers in the Community" for their remarkable achievements; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

H.R. No. 718

2

H.R. No. 718

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 718 was adopted by the House on March 15, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House