H.R. No. 722

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Grace DeForde, an eighth-grade student at Friendswood Junior High School, has been selected to receive a 2005 Prudential Spirit of Community Award in recognition of her

4 exemplary volunteer efforts; and

WHEREAS, Sponsored by Prudential Financial in partnership with the National Association of Secondary School Principals, these awards honor a middle school and high school youth from each state for outstanding acts of volunteerism; this year, more than 20,000 students nationwide were considered for these awards, and honorees received \$1,000, an engraved silver medallion, and a trip to Washington, D.C., where 10 are to be named America's top youth volunteers for 2005; and

WHEREAS, Ms. DeForde, who was diagnosed with a bleeding problem at the age of seven, has sought to raise public awareness about health issues; she developed an idea to give out backpacks and hip packs with pharmaceutical samples and pillows with an embroidered logo on them; and

WHEREAS, The future of the State of Texas, the strength of our communities, and the overall vitality of American society depend, in great measure, on the dedication of young people who, like Ms. DeForde, use their considerable talents and resources to serve others; now, therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Grace DeForde for receiving a

H.R. No. 722

- 1 Prudential Spirit of Community Award and extend to her sincere best
- 2 wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for Ms. DeForde as an expression of high regard by the
- 5 Texas House of Representatives.

Taylor

## H.R. No. 722

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Villarreal Farrar Madden Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

TT	D	$N \cap$	722
п.	. K .	NO.	1/./

\_\_\_\_

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 722 was adopted by the House on March 29, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House