H.R. No. 723

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The citizens of Fort Worth are fortunate indeed to welcome members of the Tuskegee Airmen to their city in March and April of this year, and the event provides an opportunity to reflect on this elite military brotherhood's singular stature in American history; and

WHEREAS, Formed in 1941, the Tuskegee Airmen were the first
African Americans to be trained as U.S. military pilots, and almost
a thousand young men graduated from the program by the end of World
War II; and

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, In dedicating themselves to the service of a country in which they still routinely suffered the injuries of personal and institutional bigotry, the Tuskegee Airmen not only embodied courage and daring but also represented an important first step in our nation's struggle toward the ideals of equality and racial justice; and

WHEREAS, Among the members of this remarkable group are Lee Archer, Roscoe Brown, Bob Ashby, Claude E. Platte, Lloyd McKeethen, Bill Wheeler, Victor Terrelonge, Bill Hollomen, Bill Ellis, Leo Gray, Alex Jefferson, Dick Macon, John Learh, James Sheppard, and Howard Baugh, as well as Tess Spooner, the first vice president of Tuskegee Airmen, Inc., and bomber pilot Herb Heilbrum; and

WHEREAS, Throughout history, the actions of a select few have resonated far beyond their immediate circumstances to empower and inspire the generations that follow in their wake, and the members

H.R. No. 723

- of the Tuskegee Airmen are indisputably among these few; now,
- 2 therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby welcome members of the Tuskegee Airmen to Texas
- 5 and extend to them sincere best wishes for an enjoyable stay in the
- 6 Lone Star State.

Veasey

H	. R .	No.	723

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 723 was adopted by the House on March 31, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House