H.R. No. 732

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The dedicated members of the Jenkins Volunteer Fire
Department are celebrating their organization's 30th anniversary
on March 19, 2005; and

WHEREAS, Founded in 1975 with only one truck, a converted military vehicle donated by the Texas Forestry Service, the department today boasts two tanker trucks, a grass truck, and two engines, and most of its equipment has been bought with money earned through department—sponsored fund—raisers; with approximately 10 to 15 firefighters, the department covers a main response area of about 450 residents in the southwestern corner of Morris County and also backs up the Rocky Branch Fire Department as well as other rural departments in the county; and

WHEREAS, The success of the Jenkins Volunteer Fire Department would not have been possible without the hard work and dedication of Ronald Knight, who has led the department as chief since its inception; not only has he acted as a mentor to many young firefighters throughout his tenure, but he has also been instrumental in creating other rural fire departments in isolated areas of the county; and

WHEREAS, For the past three decades, Chief Knight and the members of the Jenkins Volunteer Fire Department have made Morris County a safer place in which to live, work, and raise a family, contributing tremendously to the peace of mind, safety, and well-being of countless citizens; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 732

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commend all those associated with the Jenkins
- 3 Volunteer Fire Department on their service to their fellow Texans
- 4 and congratulate them on the 30th anniversary of their
- 5 organization; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the department as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Frost

			7 2 2
Н	R	$N \cap$	フマン

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 732 was adopted by the House on March 15, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House