H.R. No. 748

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The accomplished television, film, and stage actor
James Avery is visiting the State Capitol on this day, April 14,
welcome opportunity to commend him on his
successful career; and

WHEREAS, A New Jersey native, Mr. Avery began his college career at Virginia State University, but he left school after a year and joined the U.S. Navy; after serving his country in Vietnam, he settled in San Diego, where he wrote poetry and television scripts for PBS, winning an Emmy and a scholarship to the University of California at San Diego; he earned a bachelor's degree in drama and literature at UCSD and later received an honorary doctorate from his earlier alma mater, Virginia State; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Avery is perhaps best known for his role as Philip Banks on the enormously popular NBC television series, The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air, which ran from 1990 to 1996; his other innumerable credits include recurring roles on executive producer Will Smith's All of Us on UPN, Showtime's Soul Food, and Lifetime's The Division, and he has previously had recurring roles on such popular series as Murder One, L.A. Law, and Hill Street Blues; he has guest-starred on NYPD Blue, That '70s Show, C.S.I., The Jamie Foxx Show, and Dharma and Greg and has appeared in original movies for the Disney Channel and ABC, among others; his feature film work includes Third Wish, The Brady Bunch Movie, and Dancing in September, which was selected as an official entry in the 2001

1 Sundance Film Festival; and

WHEREAS, In addition to hosting the critically acclaimed travel and adventure PBS series, *Going Places*, he has lent his distinctive voice to more than a dozen animated features and television shows, including *Aladdin*, *Spider-Man*, and *Dr. Doolittle* 2; and

WHEREAS, Equally at home in the theater, this classically trained actor most recently impressed critics and audiences alike in a 2004 Los Angeles production of August Wilson's Ma Rainey's Black Bottom; he has also appeared in numerous Shakespeare plays over the years, including performing the lead role in Othello at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Avery also finds time to give back to his community; as the son of a schoolteacher, he recognizes the importance of education and educators and serves as a spokesperson for CalTeach, California's Teacher Recruitment Campaign; just as passionate about supporting our troops at home and abroad, he has made USO visits to Guam and the Marshall Islands in January 2005, to Korea in 2003, and to Kosovo, Macedonia, and Bosnia in 2002; and

WHEREAS, In an address to the 1996 graduating class of Virginia State University, James Avery advised the predominantly African American student body that each generation stands on the shoulders of the generation that came before, and while this gifted and compassionate artist continues to excel in his own career, he has clearly supplied strong and sturdy shoulders for the next wave of young African American actors and actresses; now, therefore, be

27 it

H.R. No. 748

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby extend a hearty Texas welcome to James Avery
- 3 and, in honor of his visit, recognize April 14, 2005, as James Avery
- 4 Day at the State Capitol.

Dutton

H.R. No. 748

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon Gattis McReynolds Zedler

TT	_	7. T	748
Н	-	$N \cap$	//10

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 748 was adopted by the House on April 14, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House