H.R. No. 750

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The retirement of Dr. Gerald Mann as senior pastor 2 of Riverbend Church in Austin provides an apt occasion to recognize 3 this renowned minister's myriad contributions to his faith 4 community; and

5 WHEREAS, A native of West Columbia, Dr. Mann earned his 6 bachelor's degree in religion at the University of Corpus Christi 7 while preaching at the First Baptist Church of Schulenburg, and he 8 later garnered his master's in theology and his doctorate in 9 philosophy from Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary; and

10 WHEREAS, Following the completion of his education, Dr. Mann 11 served as pastor of First Baptist Church of Hereford, before moving 12 to Austin to minister at University Baptist Church; and

WHEREAS, This talented and dynamic public speaker soon accepted a new role that would earn him statewide recognition; named chaplain of the Texas Legislature, he ably served the House of Representatives from 1975 to 1995 and the Senate from 1976 to 1996; famous for his unique sense of humor that permeated his opening "one-line zinger" prayers, Dr. Mann earned a dedicated following of legislators and Capitol visitors alike; and

20 WHEREAS, Dr. Mann began his own church in 1979 with 60 21 committed members and a land grant in West Austin; through the 22 ensuing years, the congregation at Riverbend Church grew steadily, 23 and today more than 8,000 area residents attend regularly to hear 24 Dr. Mann's entertaining and inspiring sermons; in order to reach an

1

H.R. No. 750

even wider audience, Dr. Mann's services were televised in the
 Capital City and later syndicated internationally, reaching more
 than 70 million homes; and

WHEREAS, The author of 11 books, the eminently quotable Dr.
Mann has been cited by a host of respected news sources, including *Newsweek*, *NBC Nightly News*, and *The Wall Street Journal*; moreover,
he was recently named one of the most effective preachers in the
English-speaking world; and

9 WHEREAS, Dr. Mann's untiring efforts and rousing sermons 10 reflect an uncompromising commitment to making faith work in 11 everyday life, and it is a pleasure to join in celebrating his 12 outstanding record of achievement; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Gerald Mann on his retirement as senior pastor of Riverbend Church and commend him for his years of dedicated service to the Austin community; and, be it further

17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 18 prepared for Dr. Mann as an expression of high regard by the Texas 19 House of Representatives.

Baxter

2

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 750

Menendez

H.R. No. 750

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 750 was adopted by the House on April 12, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House