RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, With the passing of Dwaine A. Johnson on January 18,
- 2 2005, at the age of 76, the world has lost an able entrepreneur, an
- 3 eloquent advocate, and a loving husband, father, and grandfather,
- 4 and we join his family and friends in mourning their loss; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Mr. Johnson was born in Mondamin, Iowa, and served
- 6 in the United States Air Force from 1950 to 1954, earning the
- 7 National Defense Service Medal and the Good Conduct Medal; and
- 8 WHEREAS, A successful business owner, he cofounded the
- 9 Overhead Door Company of Fort Worth in 1968 and was the proprietor
- of that concern until 1989; and
- 11 WHEREAS, It was during this period that he began his
- involvement in the political life of his community; he represented
- 13 District 3 on the Fort Worth City Council from 1981 to 1985 and was
- 14 instrumental in the development of the Dallas-Fort Worth
- 15 International Airport and the Trinity Railway project; and
- 16 WHEREAS, A familiar and welcome presence at the State
- 17 Capitol, he served as Tarrant County's first legislative
- 18 consultant, and he was the organizer of the Texas Speaker's Golf
- 19 Tournament; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Throughout his distinguished career, he was
- 21 sustained and supported by the love of his family, and his absence
- 22 from their midst is deeply felt, even as his memory continues to
- 23 shine brightly in their hearts; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

- 1 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Dwaine A. Johnson of
- 2 Fort Worth and extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family:
- 3 to his wife, Gayle Johnson; to his sons and daughters-in-law,
- 4 Steven and Patricia Johnson and Kelly and Alyssa Johnson; to his
- 5 granddaughters, Stephanie, Susan, and Andrea; to his siblings,
- 6 Merlin, Quentin, Stan, and Jan; and to the other members of his
- 7 family and his many friends; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 10 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Dwaine A.
- 11 Johnson.

Geren

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Villarreal Farrar Madden Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 763 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 31, 2005.

Chief Clerk of the House