H.R. No. 765

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Students of the National Wildlife Federation's

Earth Tomorrow Program are visiting the State Capitol on March 21,

2005, and this occasion provides a fitting opportunity to recognize

4 a truly outstanding group; and

2

3

10

11

12

13

14

17

19

5 WHEREAS, Aiming to improve environmental literacy and

6 leadership skills of underserved inner city youth, this innovative

7 program encourages high school students to understand the natural

8 world and its implications in their everyday lives; and

9 WHEREAS, Earth Tomorrow incorporates specialized curriculum,

field trips, guest speakers, and a residential summer institute to

teach students about their local environment and the positive

impact they can have in their communities; participants discover

their local watershed and learn how their actions can affect this

important ecological element and ultimately the health of the

15 Galveston Bay; and

WHEREAS, By developing and implementing environmental action

projects that foster coalition building within their communities,

18 members learn leadership skills and are exposed to practical steps

leading to an understanding of environmental careers and career

20 paths in general; and

21 WHEREAS, Students from the Houston Independent School

22 District's Madison, Worthing, Jack Yates, and Cesar Chavez High

23 Schools are participating in the Earth Tomorrow Program, and their

24 commitment to such a worthy endeavor is indeed commendable; now,

H.R. No. 765

- 1 therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby welcome the students of the Earth Tomorrow
- 4 Program to the State Capitol and extend to them sincere best wishes
- 5 for a memorable visit.

Noriega

## H.R. No. 765

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Villarreal Farrar Madden Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

тт	Ъ	NT -	765
н	R	NO	/ わっ

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 765 was adopted by the House on March 21, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House