H.R. No. 766

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize Cirque du Soleil on the occasion of its 20th anniversary 3 and on its Austin performance of "Varekai"; and

WHEREAS, Founded in 1984 by Montreal street performers, Cirque du Soleil presents a theatrical blend of circus arts played out against fairyland sets and accompanied by magical effects and spellbinding soundtracks; today, the company has 10 shows in production on three continents, and the group is performing its latest touring production in Austin from February 24, 2005, through March 27, 2005; and

"Varekai" WHEREAS, The critically acclaimed kaleidoscopic production imbued with fantastical creatures; noted for its extraordinary lighting and elaborate set designs, the show features a cast of more than 50 performers and musicians from across the globe; dressed in flamboyant costumes, they execute an astonishing spectacle that combines athleticism with artistry; and

WHEREAS, Cirque du Soleil has created a unique extraordinary show, and the residents of Austin are proud to host this historic performance of "Varekai"; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby commend Cirque du Soleil on its exceptional artistic accomplishments and extend best wishes to all those associated with the company on the grand occasion of its 20th anniversary; and, be it further

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

H.R. No. 766

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for Cirque du Soleil as an expression of high regard by the
- 3 Texas House of Representatives.

Dukes

## H.R. No. 766

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Villarreal Farrar Madden Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

TT	ח	TAT C	766
Н	ĸ	$N \cap$	/hh

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 766 was adopted by the House on March 17, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House