H.R. No. 767

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of the 2004-2005 Lopez High School Band in Brownsville have brought further honor to their school and their community through the receipt of an invitation to perform at the 2005 Administrators' Midwinter Conference on Education, held in Austin in February 2005; and

WHEREAS, In keeping with tradition, the musical groups invited to perform at the Midwinter Conference are ones who were selected the previous year as Texas Music Educators Association honor bands, choirs, and orchestras; as a result, campus and central office administrators from throughout the state have the opportunity to hear the most outstanding public school music organizations in Texas; and

WHEREAS, Members of the 2004-2005 Lopez High School Concert Band are, on the flute, Maria Martinez, Sandy Trevino, Nicole Benavides, Angelli Hernandez, and Miriam Cruz; on the oboe, Fatima Paredes; on the bassoon, Josue Zamarippa; on the clarinet, Jose Gomez, Claudia Zamora, and Mayra Reyna; on the bass clarinet, Paula Hernandez; on the alto saxophone, Kris Garcia, David Contreras, and Jose Cortez; on the tenor saxophone, Luis Villarreal; on the baritone saxophone, Arturo Davila and Israel Segovia; on the trumpet, Diego Montoya, Jesus Cardona, Eric Lopez, Rene Cantu, Leonel Orozsco, and David Avalos; on the trombone, Ampelio Jauregui, Juan Lara, Juan Badillo, and Victor Cisneros; on the baritone, Josh Salinas; on the tuba, Erick Gonzalez and Jose Muniz;

H.R. No. 767

- 1 and on percussion, Mario Pena, Natalie Cavazos, Manti Ortiz, Mike
- 2 Segura, Gilbert Flores, Juan Mendez, Edward Moctezuma, and Eliseo
- 3 Sanchez; and
- WHEREAS, Making up the Lopez High School Symphonic Band are,
- 5 on the flute, Maribel Chavez, Jacqueline Del Castillo, Johana Del
- 6 Castillo, Terry Hernandez, and Victoria Saenz; on the oboe, Mariana
- 7 Gracia; on the clarinet, Jackie Almanza, Olga Guzman, Vanessa
- 8 Hernandez, Andrew Kaspar, Krista Maldonado, and Ashley Saenz; on
- 9 the bass clarinet, Hector Aguilar, Margarito Garcia, Jr., Cynthia
- 10 Garza, and Lora Monsees; on the alto saxophone, Miriam Cardenas,
- 11 Michelle Mendoza, and Valerie Soliz; on the tenor saxophone, Brenda
- 12 Escobedo, Alex Gorena, and Robert Hernandez; on the baritone
- 13 saxophone, Israel Araujo; on the French horn, Angel Compean,
- 14 Armando Hinojosa, Maria Salas, and Rebecca Urbina; on the trumpet,
- 15 Julio Castaneda, Joshua Ponce, Andre Rattray, Irma Reyes, and Ivan
- 16 Valdez; on the trombone, Luis Avalos, Mario Chavez, Nestor Flores,
- 17 and Jason Torres; on the bass trombone, Mario Chavez; on the
- 18 baritone, Jaime Infante and Ruben Mireles; on the tuba, Marco Cantu
- and Danny Leal; and on percussion, Ruben Reyes, Michael Garza, Mike
- 20 Trenfield, Tom Raines, Jacqueline Dominguez, Raul Rosales, and
- 21 Manny Hernandez; and
- 22 WHEREAS, These talented students are ably guided by band
- 23 director George A. Trevino, assistant band director Adam Kramer,
- 24 percussion specialist Javier Bermudez, and double reeds specialist
- 25 Monica Garza; and
- WHEREAS, In the little more than a decade that Lopez High
- 27 School has been open, its band program has registered numerous

H.R. No. 767

- 1 ensemble and individual achievements, and it is a pleasure to
- 2 commend its students, instructors, and directors on this most
- 3 recent, well-deserved recognition; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby congratulate all those associated with the Lopez
- 6 High School Band on that group's invitation to perform at the 2005
- 7 Administrators' Midwinter Conference on Education and extend to
- 8 them sincere best wishes for continued success in all their
- 9 endeavors; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 11 for Lopez High School band members, band faculty, and school
- 12 officials as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of
- 13 Representatives.

Solis

TT	_	7. T	7 (7
Н	-	NO	161

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 767 was adopted by the House on March 31, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House