H.R. No. 819

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Friendswood High School Lady Mustangs 2 basketball team has achieved another winning season, an 3 accomplishment owed in no small part to their primary source of 4 inspiration, Neal McClaugherty; and

5 WHEREAS, After charging through the regular season, the Lady 6 Mustangs demonstrated the skill and physical stamina necessary to win the District 23-4A title for the eighth consecutive year; ably 7 led by head coach Dena Russo, the members of this championship team 8 include Chelsea Edwards, Tina Brown, Holli Jo Wood, Jenna Cline, 9 Adrianne Meengs, Ana Viscariello, Molly Black, Kacey Grisham, Katie 10 11 Fenn, Alex Davenport, and Shaina Berry; the team was also supported by managers Paige Ellsworth, Kimberley Williamson, and Neal 12 McClaugherty; and 13

14 WHEREAS, Team manager Neal McClaugherty, who has cerebral palsy and is a quadriplegic, has provided special support and 15 motivation to the team; since starting high 16 school, Mr. McClaugherty has not missed a single district game; in addition, he 17 has given a boost to his teammates with his rendition of the 18 National Anthem as well as his notable half-time demonstration of 19 20 shooting a basketball; and

21 WHEREAS, The members, managers, and coach of the Friendswood 22 High School girls' basketball team are a source of tremendous pride 23 to the faculty and students at the school and to their supporters in 24 the community, and they are most deserving of praise for their

1

1 significant achievements on and off the basketball court; now,
2 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby commend Coach Dena Russo and the Friendswood High School Lady Mustangs on their outstanding season and recognize the extraordinary contributions of team manager Neal McClaugherty; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 10 House of Representatives.

> Taylor Hopson

H.R. No. 819

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 819

Menendez

H.R. No. 819

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 819 was adopted by the House on April 6, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House