H.R. No. 824

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The William H. Taft High School Lady Raiders 2 basketball team of San Antonio reached the semifinals in the 2005 3 UIL state championship competition at the Frank Erwin Center and 4 posted an impressive 35-2 season record; and

5 WHEREAS, Achieving this admirable success was the result of 6 a team effort by senior wing Ashley Myers, junior guard Angela 7 Myers, senior wing Marquia Caldwell, senior post J'Nay Vann, senior 8 post Marissa Stein, freshman wing Dora Garza, junior post Katie 9 Evans, sophomore guard Mecha Santos, junior post Diandra Torres, 10 senior wing Natalie Gamez, senior post Delores Bloom, and junior 11 guard Christine Soria; and

12 WHEREAS, Head coach Pamela Owens schooled these exceptional 13 athletes in the finer points of the game while instilling in them 14 the values of hard work, dedication, and sportsmanship; she was ably supported in her efforts by assistant coaches Kim Watson and 15 Marvin Walker, athletic director Lee Bridges, trainers Tim Kloewer 16 and Lee Whitehead, and team managers Jenni Villalba, Aurie Johnson, 17 18 and Danielle Arellano, as well as by school principal Tommy Garcia and coordinator Scott Libby; and 19

20 WHEREAS, The parents of these outstanding young players are 21 also deserving of special recognition for their unwavering support 22 of their children in the pursuit of their goals; and

23 WHEREAS, The Lady Raiders, along with their coaches and 24 staff, are a source of tremendous pride to the students and faculty

1

of William H. Taft High School and their many supporters in the San Antonio community, and their outstanding season indeed warrants special recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
Legislature hereby honor the William H. Taft High School Lady
Raiders basketball team on a successful 2004-2005 season and extend
to the players and coaches best wishes for the future; and, be it
further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 11 House of Representatives.

Leibowitz

H.R. No. 824

2

H.R. No. 824

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 824 was adopted by the House on April 7, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House