H.R. No. 837

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For nearly three decades, Mercy Ships, a global 2 charity, has come to the aid of people in need by maintaining a 3 fleet of hospital ships in developing nations; and

WHEREAS, Mercy Ships was founded in 1978 by Don and Deyon Stephens of Garden Valley when they purchased the *Anastasis* and set to transform it from a passenger ship to a floating hospital; today, following the tenets of their spiritual beliefs, they have expanded the charity to include three ships, which all provide medical treatment for people throughout the world; and

WHEREAS, In its benevolent quest, the organization has served more than 5.5 million people, delivered more than \$21 million in medical equipment, hospital supplies, and medicines, and completed nearly 350 construction and agriculture projects, including schools, clinics, and orphanages; the charity relies on 850 staff members and more than 1,600 volunteers to carry out its mission; and WHEREAS, The founders, staff, and volunteers of Mercy Ships have made an indelible impact on the fight for global health; their tireless work in behalf of individuals in need is truly an inspiration, and it is a pleasure to honor their achievements at this time; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby commend Mercy Ships for bringing hope and healing to developing countries and extend to Don and Deyon Stephens and all those associated with this remarkable organization

H.R. No. 837

- 1 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for the staff and volunteers as an expression of high
- 4 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Flynn

H.R. No. 837

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

TT	_		$\sim \sim 7$
	-	$N \cap$	Q 2 1

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 837 was adopted by the House on March 21, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House