By: Craddick H.R. No. 846

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The team of Harvey Yates, Martin Yates III, Saint

2 Clair Peyton Yates, and John Yates is being inducted into the

Petroleum Hall of Fame on April 14, 2005, at the Petroleum Museum in

4 Midland; and

3

7

8

10

11

13

14

17

18

20

5 WHEREAS, The Petroleum Hall of Fame recognizes individuals

6 and teams who have made significant contributions to the

development of the petroleum industry and impacted their

communities through civic and social involvement; and

9 WHEREAS, For 75 years, the Yates brothers have developed oil

and gas properties in New Mexico, working collectively for Yates

Petroleum, while cultivating their own independent enterprises;

12 their father, Martin Yates, Jr., discovered the first commercial

oil well in the southeast corner of the state, and seven decades

later, the brothers have participated in some of the largest and

most significant fields in New Mexico; and

WHEREAS, After Harvey Yates made his first discovery in 1939,

he founded HEYCO, a drilling company with its headquarters in

Roswell; he was a board member of the Independent Petroleum

19 Association of America (IPAA) and the First National Bank of

Artesia and held offices in the Independent Petroleum Association

of New Mexico (IPANM), the Geological Society, the Boy Scouts, and

22 the Rotary Club; before his death in April 1999, he received the

23 Independent Petroleum Association of Mountain States Wildcatter of

24 the Year award; and

H.R. No. 846

WHEREAS, Harvey's younger brother, Martin Yates III, known as Bitsy, started his own production company, MYCO, after he discovered a productive field in New Mexico with his father that sparked a drilling boom; he worked with his brother, Saint Clair, as a roustabout at Illinois Camp, north of Carlsbad, and the two men eventually became successful independent operators, nicknamed the Gold Dust Twins; Bitsy Yates was a member of IPAA and worked with numerous oil companies as well as with the Artesia Little Theater and the Artesia Broadcasting Company before his passing in 1985; and

WHEREAS, Saint Clair Peyton Yates, known as S.P., perfected air-drilling techniques at the Empire Abo field and worked with his brother, John, discovering a technique to handle the overproduction of water in the Dagger Draw wells; he successfully drilled hundreds of wells and, in 1959, founded Yates Drilling Company, which he now serves as vice president and director; until 1988, he served as president of Yates Petroleum, and now works as the company's chair and director; and

WHEREAS, The persistence and determination of John Ashby Yates in his quest to find oil enabled operators to learn how to produce oil from the water-laden reservoir of Dagger Draw field, which in turn led to the growth of Yates Petroleum in the late 1980s and the 1990s; he has served on the National Petroleum Council and is a member of the New Mexico Oil and Gas Association, IPANM, the American Petroleum Institute, the Roswell Geological Society, and IPAA, which named him its Chief Roughneck of the Year; he has also been inducted into the All American Wildcatters Association; and

H.R. No. 846

1 WHEREAS, The Yates brothers' achievements as industry and 2 community leaders have distinguished them among the members of 3 their profession, and they are indeed deserving of this prestigious 4 award; now, therefore, be it

5

6

7

8

9

10

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby honor the team of Harvey Yates, Martin Yates III, Saint Clair Peyton Yates, and John Yates on its induction into the Petroleum Hall of Fame and recognize its members' outstanding professional accomplishments and civic contributions; and, be it further

11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 12 prepared for members of the Yates family as an expression of high 13 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.