H.R. No. 863

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, J. D. Salinas III of Hidalgo County was deservedly 2 named the County Clerk of the Year for the State of Texas by the 3 County and District Clerks Association of Texas at the

4 organization's annual conference held in June 2004; and

5 WHEREAS, A graduate of both Texas A&M University and The University of Texas--Pan American, where he earned his master's 6 degree in public administration, Mr. Salinas first won election to 7 his post in 1999, was reelected in 2003, and has served area 8 residents with great distinction for the past six years; during 9 that time, he has implemented the Random Automated Assignment 10 System for court cases and created the Hidalgo County Clerk 11 12 Collections Department, which has brought in \$11 million in court

13 costs and fines in the past four years; and

14

15

16

17

18

23

24

WHEREAS, Mr. Salinas has further benefited the Lone Star State as the director of Region VIII of the County and District Clerks Association of Texas; highly regarded by his professional peers, he has been previously honored by the organization as the 2000 County Clerk of the Year for the Southern Region; and

WHEREAS, J. D. Salinas embodies the highest ideals of public service, and through his devotion to excellence, he has truly made Hidalgo County a better place in which to live; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate J. D. Salinas III on being named

H.R. No. 863

- 1 the County Clerk of the Year for the State of Texas by the County and
- 2 District Clerks Association of Texas and commend him for his years
- 3 of service benefiting the people of Hidalgo County; and, be it
- 4 further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Salinas as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Gonzales

TT	_	7. T	863
н	$\nu$	No.	$\times$ 63

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 863 was adopted by the House on March 22, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House