H.R. No. 885

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Under the leadership of founder and director Rheta
- 2 Norman, the Rites of Passage Program for Girls, Inc., has provided
- 3 an effective course of study for young women of Dallas in their
- 4 transition from adolescence to adulthood; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The program encourages its students to adopt
- 6 lifelong traits that exemplify Christian values, an appreciation
- 7 for their cultural heritage, community involvement, and positive
- 8 self-esteem; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Established in 1998, ROPP's primary goal is to
- 10 develop young women of character, and each participant enters the
- 11 program at the sixth-grade level and continues for a seven-year
- 12 course of study; its guidance includes instruction in many diverse
- 13 areas including public speaking, organizational skills, money
- 14 management, art appreciation, family and cultural history, and
- 15 journal writing; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The program's current participants include: Amber
- 17 Bedford, Alexia McMillan, Neachelle Parkman, Monica Rushing,
- 18 Aleasia Simms, Charmante Taylor, Asia Thomas, Marcia Thomas, and
- 19 Brittaney Whitfield; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Offering a unique opportunity for young women to
- 21 develop new skills outside the pressures of school demands and
- 22 social activities, the program is an asset to the city of Dallas and
- 23 merits special commendation for its community efforts; now,
- 24 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 885

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby honor the Rites of Passage Program for Girls,
- 3 Inc., and extend to Rheta Norman and all those associated with this
- 4 noteworthy organization sincere best wishes for continued
- 5 accomplishment; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the program as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

TT	Ъ	7.T ~	$00^{\circ}$
н	R	NO	ススコ

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 885 was adopted by the House on March 23, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House