H.R. No. 909

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to pay 2 tribute to the cities of Eden, San Augustine, Yoakum, Fort 3 Stockton, Claude, Brownwood, Quitaque, Rio Grande, White Deer, and 4 Post, which have been designated 2005 Texas Yes! Hardworking Rural 5 Communities by the Texas Department of Agriculture; and

6 WHEREAS, The Texas Yes! project was established by the 7 department to promote the growth and prosperity of every rural 8 Texas town, city, and county and is similar to the department's GO 9 TEXAN marketing campaign; and

WHEREAS, Each community is self-nominated and evaluated by the Texas Yes! Advisory Board, an independent panel composed of leaders in the arts, media, education, and tourism from throughout the state; in determining a community's eligibility, the panel assesses its program for rural development as it relates to tourism, planning, community involvement, economic progress, and education, among other criteria; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Yes! awards spotlight the exciting developments taking place in rural communities across Texas and encourages these communities to share and promote successful ideas; the 10 cities that have been selected for the 2005 Texas Yes! award are proven hardworking rural communities, and they are indeed deserving of legislative recognition for their achievements; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

1

## H.R. No. 909

Legislature hereby commend the citizens of Eden, San Augustine, Yoakum, Fort Stockton, Claude, Brownwood, Quitaque, Rio Grande, White Deer, and Post for their outstanding work in developing and promoting their communities and congratulate them on their designation as Texas Yes! Hardworking Rural Communities; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for these communities as an expression of esteem by the
Texas House of Representatives.

## Chisum

H.R. No. 909

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 909 was adopted by the House on March 31, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House