By: Chisum H.R. No. 909

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to pay

2 tribute to the cities of Eden, San Augustine, Yoakum, Fort

Stockton, Claude, Brownwood, Quitaque, Rio Grande, White Deer, and

Post, which have been designated 2005 Texas Yes! Hardworking Rural

5 Communities by the Texas Department of Agriculture; and

6 WHEREAS, The Texas Yes! project was established by the

department to promote the growth and prosperity of every rural

8 Texas town, city, and county and is similar to the department's GO

9 TEXAN marketing campaign; and

3

4

7

11

12

14

16

18

21

22

10 WHEREAS, Each community is self-nominated and evaluated by

the Texas Yes! Advisory Board, an independent panel composed of

leaders in the arts, media, education, and tourism from throughout

13 the state; in determining a community's eligibility, the panel

assesses its program for rural development as it relates to

15 tourism, planning, community involvement, economic progress, and

education, among other criteria; and

17 WHEREAS, The Texas Yes! awards spotlight the exciting

developments taking place in rural communities across Texas and

19 encourages these communities to share and promote successful ideas;

20 the 10 cities that have been selected for the 2005 Texas Yes! award

are proven hardworking rural communities, and they are indeed

deserving of legislative recognition for their achievements; now,

23 therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas

H.R. No. 909

- 1 Legislature hereby commend the citizens of Eden, San Augustine,
- 2 Yoakum, Fort Stockton, Claude, Brownwood, Quitaque, Rio Grande,
- 3 White Deer, and Post for their outstanding work in developing and
- 4 promoting their communities and congratulate them on their
- 5 designation as Texas Yes! Hardworking Rural Communities; and, be it
- 6 further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for these communities as an expression of esteem by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.